Lena Mamykina Named One 23 Fellows to be Inducted
into the American College of Medical Informatics

Lena Mamykina, Associate Professor of Biomedical Informatics and Graduate Program Director, has been named of the 23 new Fellows who will be inducted into the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI) on November 12 at a ceremonial dinner during the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) 2023 Annual Symposium. New Fellows are elected annually to the College by the 473-member body of Fellows.

AMIA’s Annual Symposium presents leading-edge scientific research on biomedical and health informatics, showcasing more than 600 scientific sessions. The Symposium is the largest informatics event worldwide. The work presented spans the spectrum of the informatics field: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics and public health informatics.

Lena Mamykina, Associate Professor of Biomedical Informatics and Graduate Program Director, has been named one of the 23 new Fellows who will be inducted into the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI) on November 12

Dr. Mamykina’s broad research interests include an individual’s sensemaking and problem-solving in context of health management, collective sensemaking within online health support communities, clinical reasoning and decision-making, communication and coordination of work in clinical teams, and ways to support these practices with informatics interventions. She also focuses on analysis of health information technologies and how they are used among critical care teams, as well as social computing platforms for facilitating knowledge sharing within clinical communities, and within online health support groups. 

Dr. Mamykina was nominated twice for best paper at the ACM SIGCHI conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems and won the IBM Research Division Award for Outstanding Contribution as a Summer Student. She has served as a program committee member for the CHI and AMIA conferences.

“This year we welcome a large and diverse cohort of highly acclaimed ACMI Fellows to the College,” said ACMI President Kevin B. Johnson, MD, MS, FACMI, FAMIA, FIAHSI, David L. Cohen University Professor of Biomedical Informatics, Computer and Information Science, Pediatrics, and Science Communication at the University of Pennsylvania.

The FACMI designation is one of distinction and pride. They represent excellence from academia, government and industry and are the best and brightest stars in our field demonstrating thought leadership, stellar experience and established scholarship. Together their important contributions to biomedicine and healthcare inform, educate and inspire the informatics community to improve human health.”

ACMI will welcome the following 23 new Fellows to the College:

Adela Grando, PhD, FAMIA, Arizona State University
Allison McCoy, PhD, FAMIA, ACHIP, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Bryant Karras, MD, State of Washington, Department of Health
Chi-Ren Shyu, PhD, FAMIA, University of Missouri – Columbia
Dana Crawford, PhD, Case Western Reserve University
Ellen Clayton, MD, JD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Graciela Gonzalez-Hernandez, PhD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Jenna Marquard, PhD, University of Minnesota
Joseph Finkelstein, MD, FAMIA, University of Utah
Kenrick Cato, PhD, RN, CPHIMS, FAAN, University of Pennsylvania & Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Kirk Roberts, PhD, McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Lipika Samal, MD, FAMIA, Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Maxim Topaz, PhD, MA, RN, FAAN, Columbia University School of Nursing
Neil Smalheiser, MD, FAMIA, University of Illinois at Chicago
Olena Mamykina, PhD, Columbia University
Robert Lucero, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Nursing
Shyam Visweswaran, MD, PhD, FAMIA, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Stephen Wong, PhD, PE, FAMIA, Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston Methodist Research Institute, Houston Methodist Neal Cancer Center, Houston Methodist Academic Institute, and Weil Cornell Medicine
Thankam Thyvalikakath, DMD, PhD, Regenstrief Institute/Indiana University School of Dentistry
Xiaoqian Jiang, PhD, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Yong Chen, PhD, FAMIA, University of Pennsylvania
Yuan Luo, PhD, FAMIA, Northwestern University
Yunan Chen, PhD, University of California, Irvine